On August 10th I did a search for our Web site (MINNESOTAJOBS.COM) on yahoo.com and bing.com shows an ad using our web address in it. The landing page of the Web site has a form you fill out. It “required in order to see the job postings”. I completed the form and was presented with what seemed like an endless list of other forms asking for personal information. It looks like completing the forms results in you getting emailed advertisements or phone calls (including cell phone calls!) from marketers. I completed several forms and was rewarded with a listing of jobs from a job aggregator. These were not even jobs listed on MINNESOTAJOBS.COM.
I see several problems – some of them legal issues.
1. Stealing a popular domain name
2. Misrepresenting the Web site associated with the domain name
3. Asking for personal information that will not be accessible to the real Web site
4. Displaying job postings that are not even on the Web site they are claiming to represent.
So far I’ve contacted Yahoo.com, bing.com, and some company that is offering advertising opportunities on the misrepresented Web sites.
I first noticed this disturbing trend a few weeks ago when I was searching for a Web site we partner with. As always, make sure to look in your address bar when you go to Web sites and make it lists the same Web site you think you are going to.
The companies involved with this deception are WorkJobs.net, LocalJobsClassifieds.net and probably many others. After completing some forms, I saw a link that said “Advertise with us”. The company listed was smiley media.